APC Finally Tells Ambode, Others To Face Primary On September 29

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Jide Sanwoolu Ambode APC 2019

The Governor’s Advisory Council (GAC) of the , , yesterday decided that the state governor, Mr. , and two other governorship aspirants would face the primary contest scheduled to hold on Saturday, September 29.

With the decision of the GAC, the party denied Ambode the right of first refusal despite the intervention of , the Vice President ; former Governor, Chief Olusegun Osoba; and Oyo State Governor, Senator , among others.

Notwithstanding the decision, THISDAY sources said that Ambode was still locked in a meeting with the party’s national leader, Senator Bola Tinubu, and former national chairman, Chief , in Lagos last night.
The spokesman of the advisory council, Dr. Abayomi Finnih, disclosed this during a press briefing at the secretariat of Lagos APC, Acme Road yesterday.

ALSO SEE  JUST IN: Gbenga Daniel Joins APC

He addressed the journalists alongside an APC chieftain, Prof. Babatunde Samuel.

Ambode’s political future has been uncertain after the Managing Director of Lagos State Development and Property Corporation (LSDPC), Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, and former Commissioner for Works & Infrastructure, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat, declared intention to challenge Ambode.

Consequently, the Mandate Movement, a powerful political machine of the National Leader of All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Bola Tinubu, endorsed Sanwo-Olu for the governorship contest, thus heating up the state’s political climate ahead of the primary election slated for September 29.

Ambode’s travail had attracted the intervention of the presidency, Osoba, Ajimobi, the Progressives Governors Forum (PGF) and the Nigerian Governors Forum (NGF), pleading for a reprieve for the governor.

ALSO SEE  Let’s Join Hands To Kick President Buhari Out - Olu Falae

With the presidential intervention, the APC national leader decided to consult the GAC, the state’s highest advisory political organ comprising 22 APC chieftains across the three senatorial districts.

The members of the GAC include Chairman of Lagos APC, Prince Babatunde Balogun, his immediate predecessor, Chief Oladele Ajomale, Otunba Bushirat Alebiosu, Dr. Olorunfemi Bashorun, Senator Anthony Adefuye, Prof. Babatunde Samuel, Chief Adeyemi Ikuforiji, Alhaji Tajudeen Olusi, Cardinal James Odumbaku, Chief Lanre Rasak, Dr. Yomi Finnih, among others.

More from talkGlitz.tv

ALSO SEE  Stakeholders, Traders Kick Against Market Closure For APGA Rally In Anambra

Write A Comment